25-year-old Aboriginal artist Kamsani (Kam) Bin Salleh from Cottesloe, who uses his artwork as a platform to share knowledge and educate others about culture, is among seven outstanding young people from across the state who have been selected as category winners in the 2018 WA Youth Awards.

WA Young Person of the Year Kam Bin Salleh with Minister for Youth, Hon Peter Tinley AM MLA 

Image: WA Young Person of the Year Kam Bin Salleh (right) with Minister for Youth, Hon Peter Tinley AM MLA

Kam is involved with the ICEA Foundation and runs numerous school art programs across Perth and is also the Director of the 2018 Kambarang festival which promotes a meaningful experience with Noongar culture for participants. Kam was also chosen as the overall WA Young Person of the Year during the awards ceremony on Friday, 12 October.

Other winning entrants this year include 12-year-old Scott Guerini from Alkimos whose passion for helping others has led him to fundraise over $145,000 for Telethon, 24-year-old Aboriginal Educational Officer Dale Rollaston from Broome and 25-year-old disability rights campaigner Drizana Levitzke-Gray from Balga.

Group photo of Youth Awards winners and the Minister for Youth

Image: (From left) Dale Rollaston, Scott Guerini, Hon Peter Tinley AM MLA, Bella Burgemeister, Kam Bin Salleh, Drisana Levitzke-Grey

Celebrating their 20th anniversary in 2018, the WA Youth Awards acknowledge the achievements and contributions of young Western Australians aged 12 to 25 years, as well as organisations that work with and support WA youth.

The awards are a partnership between the Department of Communities and the Youth Affairs Council of Western Australia, and are supported by Lotterywest.

The Town of Bassendean’s Youth Services Regional Youth Driving Education (RYDE) program was singled out as the winning large organisation for its outstanding work with local youth in this year’s awards ceremony.

RYDE links volunteer driving mentors to young people to improve their driving ability and reach the required 50 hours of driving to obtain their license. The program helps to overcome disadvantage for those who do not have experienced driver mentors to support them, or for families without access to a vehicle or the finances to complete the required hours of driving experience.

Awards and winners

The Commissioner for Children and Young People Participate Award - Scott Guerini, 12, Alkimos

The ECU Community Leadership Award - Drisana Levitzke-Gray, 25, Balga

The Hope Community Services Positive Achievement Award - Dale Rollason, 24, Broome

The Life Without Barriers Organisational Achievement Award - Small, Youth Disability Advocacy Network

The Minister for Youth's Most Outstanding Youth Worker Award - Jessica Vati, 42, Mandurah

The Mission Australia Cultural Endeavours Award - Kamsani (Kam) Bin-Salleh, 25, Cottesloe

The RAC Innovation for Sustainable Future Award - Bella Burgemeister, 12, Dalyellup

The YMCA Organisational Achievement Award - Large - Town of Bassendean Youth Services, RYDE Program.

The Charmaine Dragun Memorial Award - Lindsay Brennan, 23, employed by 6PR/ECU